TWIN FALLS, Idaho (KLIX) – Fourteen candidates for a seat on the City Council will be introduced at today’s meeting.

The 14 candidates are vying to fill the seat left vacant once Councilman Don Hall, who was recently elected to the County Commission, resigns in January.

The candidates include Ann Beck, Robert Beer, Neil Christensen, Matthew Coleman, J. Craig Hawkins, Karlan Jensen, John Kapeleris, Craig Manning, Ron Maughan, Jim O’Donnell, Sherry Olsen-Frank, Christopher Reid, Eric Smallwood and Ken Wiesmore.

Mayor Shawn Barigar, with the council’s approval, will appoint the new member to serve the balance of the term for Seat 6, which expires in January 2018. If he or she wishes to continue on the seat after that, the appointee would have to run in the November 2017 election and receive voter approval.

Today’s City Council meeting begins an hour earlier than normal, at 4 p.m., at the Twin Falls City Council Chambers, 305 Third Ave. East.