Florida State’s freshman phenom Jameis Winston won the 2013 Heisman Trophy by one of the largest margins in history.

After setting NCAA freshman records with 3,820 yards and 38 touchdowns this season while leading the Seminoles to their first 12-0 season since 1999, Winston finished with 2,205 points in the voting. Alabama’s AJ McCarron was a distant second with 704 points. Winston’s was the seventh-largest margin of victory in Heisman history. He becomes the second consecutive freshman (after Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M) and the youngest player ever to win the award.

Although ultimately not charged in a long-running sexual assault investigation, the controversy probably didn't help Winston’s cause as 115 of the Heisman’s 900 voters left him off their ballots entirely. However, his on-field performance led to him receiving 668 first-place votes, compared to McCarron’s 79.

This season, Winston has thrown for 300+ yards seven times and scored at least four touchdowns six times. He’ll face his biggest test of the season in the BCS Championship Game against No. 2 Auburn.

Heisman Voting

Player Total Points First Place Votes
Jameis Winston (QB, Florida State) 2,205 668
AJ McCarron (QB, Alabama) 704 79
Jordan Lynch (QB, Northern Illinois) 558 40
Andre Williams (RB, Boston College) 470 29
Johnny Manziel (QB, Texas A&M) 421 30
Tre Mason (RB, Auburn) 404 31
Bryce Petty (QB, Baylor) 127 4
Derek Carr (QB, Fresno State) 107 6
Braxton Miller (QB, Ohio State) 91 4
Ka'Deem Carey (RB, Arizona) 70 2