BOISE, Idaho (KTVB) -- The federal government has designated Jerome, Twin Falls, and Clearwater counties as primary natural disaster areas. Twin Falls and Jerome filed for disaster declaration on Tuesday after heavy rains last month caused major losses for farmers. Clearwater County was designated a natural disaster area because of high winds and hail last month.

Farmers are eligible for low interest emergency loans because of the designations. Surrounding counties also qualify for natural disaster assistance.

More From News Radio 1310 KLIX